📝Frances Dowell Stories📖

 

Hello everyone and welcome back to another blog post! Today I will be sharing about our Frances Dowell stories. One unit we did in Language Arts was to write stories. We were extremely lucky to get a real author to help us with the writing process of our stories! As you read on, I will share about my experience on this once in a life time situation. So, without further a do, let’s get started! ✨

The first piece of advice we got from Frances Dowell was to have an opening action scene, a background check, sticks and stones, a big monster problem, and a resolution. I used all of these in my story. The opening action scene was when Selest had met The Voice. My background check was when I described all the main characters that were used in the story, such as Jack, Selest, and Fifi the dog. Sticks and stones were small problems in your story to make it more interesting, like when they encountered the dragon. Then you get to your big monster problem, which was in their case, trying to rescue Selest’s parents. After that, you would have your resolution and end your story. 📝

During the revising process, we had to help our classmates with telling them feedback and helping them with things that could be changed in their story. Some feedback I got before I finished my story was what to do for the ending scene. I was already a bit behind and I wanted the story to end a little bit faster, so I asked my fellow classmates for some good advice. Someone suggested to make Jack and Selest realize that their parents were put into a deep slumber and the only way to wake them up was to make an awakening potion which required them going on a short-ish journey to go and get the ingredient, but I figured that would be a little too long so I ended up not doing it. 👩🏽‍🏫

When we finished our stories, we gave a Frances Dowell one part of our stories and she gave us feedback. The feedback she gave me was that she really liked my background check, (Which was the part I gave her) and that she liked how I added something funny at the end. 🙃

Writing this story was an absolutely incredible experience that I have never done before. Getting to work with a real author was amazing! I will absolutely keep writing stories. Writing is one of my favorite things to do in my spare time or when I have nothing to do, or if the weather is not looking so good. 🌧

Before Frances Dowell reads my story, I would like to say thank you, for helping us through it all and telling us tips and tricks to help make our story more exciting or interesting. I will add Frances Dowell’s website in the link below if anyone is interested in checking it out! Thank you for reading this blog post and I hope you all have a great day! 😆

~Samiya M. 🌸✨

Home

3 thoughts on “📝Frances Dowell Stories📖

  1. This was a great blog post and you really summed up what steps we took to write our stories. By the way you story sounds super interesting and I love the names of the characters.

  2. I’ve heard little bits of your story, and it is so good!! Your story is interesting and action packed and you did a great job with this!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *